Wednesday, April 27, 2011

7 churches of Revelation

Question Received:

What are the seven true religions or seven true churches?

My Answer:

In answering your question as you asked it, it seems to be an oxymoron that their would be seven true religions.
Only on religion or faith can be true. We state that Christianity, humanity's only hope, is in the life death burial and Resurrection of Jesus Christ.
Through the shedding of His blood and His death, Jesus Christ the only Son of God, paid the penalty of His believers as they broke the law of God. We know through experience and the Bible that all have sinned. The wrath of God intended for law breakers was poured out on Jesus Christ on the cross. We inherit, when turning to Jesus Christ for salvation, peace with God and eternal life. I plead for you, if you have not already to hear the Word of God, repent or turn from sin and towards Jesus Christ, and receive forgiveness of sins an, salvation and eternal life.

The seven churches were actual churches in the book of Revelation. Jesus Christ gave the Apostle John specific messages to seven churches around 90 A,D.
John 1:19-20 [ESV]
" 19 Write therefore the things that you have seen, those that are and those that are to take place after this. 20As for the mystery of the seven stars that you saw in my right hand, and the seven golden lampstands, the seven stars are the angels of the seven churches, and the seven lampstands are the seven churches."

The lampstands are understood to hold the gospel fire of the the saving gospel that churches are to protect and share.
The angels might be angels. Angel means messenger. So the angels represented as stars might mean literal angels or the pastors of the churches that receive and give the message of the gospel.

In Revelation chapters 2 and 3 personalized messages are given to the seven churches. These messages are for the specific churches. The messages are also for benefit for all churches from then to now. Churches today can look at the commendation, criticism, instruction and promise that Jesus Christ gives to the seven churches and learn from these messages.

The seven churches are Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamos, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia and Laodicea.

You can read the many lessons given to the churches in Revelation chapters 1 and 2.

The churches have a central message. Stay true to the life saving message of the gospel, stay strong and gospel focused, do not get side tracked by outside influences and do not forget or compromise the gospel. We need this messages in our churches today.

After the messages to the churches the book of Revelation focuses on the last days of the the world as we know it, the rapture, the tribulation, the return of Jesus Christ as he triumphs over evil, judgment of sinners and Satan and demons to eternal damnation, rewards believers for obedience, establishes a millennial kingdom and then the new Heaven and Earth is revealed. Some book!

It is essential that you examine your life and look at the ministry of Jesus Christ [God's perfect Son who paid for the penalty of your sins on the cross], pray to repent of your sins, receive His pardon and Peace with God and eternal life.
I pray that you have or will. If you are a believer it is essential you share your faith with family, friends and people you meet. As you read the book of Revelation you will see the end of days can come at any time. The Lord might delay His return for years also. But we know are days on Earth are numbered. Get ready. We will all meet the Lord either at the judgement of believers where Christ judges us righteous by his work on the cross and rewards us or at the sheep and goat judgement where the non believer in Christ is sentenced to the lake of fire.
Get yourself ready!

No comments:

Post a Comment